Pathein Administrators Resign In Irrawaddy Region

By Network Media Group
Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Two ward administrators appointed by Aung San Suu Kyi’s government in the Irrawaddy Region will resign from their posts in Pathein at the end of November.

A man employed by the town’s administrative committee, who requested anonymity, said they wrote on their resignation letter they will leave their posts for health reasons. He pointed out that the regime that overthrew the government on 1 February plans to remove all popularly elected village and ward administrators from the National League for Democracy (NLD). However, Kyaw Gyi from Pathein said they resigned because the regime is forcing administrators to work as informants.

Win Naing, in charge of Ward 13, and Aung Myat Thu in Ward 8 could not be reached by NMG for comment.

Of the 74 wards and village tracts in Pathein Township, the junta has removed 39 NLD village administrators and charged one with sedition under Article 505 (a) of Burma’s Penal Code. The man died due to poor health after fleeing arrest.

According to sources close to the committee, the military is appointing former soldiers and members of the military’s Union Solidarity and Development Party as new ward and village administrators. In October, military-appointed village administrator Kyaung Pan Kong was shot dead in Pathein Township.