Two Mon Political Parties Merge

 The Mon National Party and the All Mon Region Democracy Party announce that they have joined forces.


Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Mon National Party (MNP) and the All Mon Region Democracy Party (AMDP) have successfully merged, according to heads of the organizations.

Five leaders from each the MNP and AMDP held a summit on Saturday in which they decided to combine their parties.

“They agreed on everything. The two political parties are completely merged, except for carrying out the registration of the new political party with the Union Election Commission,” Nai San Tin, Joint Secretary (2) for the new party, told NMG.

The leaders for new political party are Chairman Nai Tin Aung, Vice Chairman (1) Nai Hla Aung, Vice Chairman (2) Nai Ngwe Thein, and Vice Chairman (3) Nai Chan Twae. The general secretary is Dr. Min Nwe Soe. Nai Layitama will serve as the Associate Secretary (1). Nai Soe Myint, Nai Than Shwe, and Dr. Min Kyi Win are associate secretaries (3), (4) and (5) respectively.

The new party has 44 central executive committee members and 100 central committee members.

A new name has not yet been chosen, but according to the party’s leaders, a title will be selected from the suggestions from the Mon people.

“We will make a list of 10 names and then we will explain it at the township level in Mon State. Then we will collect suggestions from township level members. We will pick the party name that gets the most suggestions,” Joint Secretary (1) Nai Layitama said.

Mon leaders say they have been trying to merge the two parties since the general election in 2015. MNP ran in 53 constituencies, winning two seats in the Mon State parliament and one seat in the national Upper House. It did not run in 2010.

In 2015, the AMDP ran in 35 constituencies and won one seat in Mon State parliament. In 2010, its candidates ran in 34 constituencies in Mon and Karen states. They won three seats the Lower House, four in the Upper House, and nine in the Mon State parliament.

Burma’s next general elections are scheduled to take place in 2020.