Gov’t and EAOs Agree To JICM Meeting And Panglong Conference

Thursday, November 22, 2019
By Network Media Group (NMG)

A decision to meet for the Joint Implementation Coordination (JICM) and finally hold the long-delayed 21st Century Panglong Conference after Armed Forces Day was decided when signatories of the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) and the government met in northern Thailand.

Representatives of the government’s Peace Commission (PC) met with the 10 NCA ethnic armed organisations (EAOs) in Chiang Mai to discuss kick starting the JICM meeting and the ill-fated peace conference.

Zaw Htay, the spokesperson of the PC, said since the last JICM meeting was postponed they needed to meet for discussions before it could be rescheduled.

The next step is for EAO representatives to confirm with the Peace Process Steering Team (PPST) their commitment to attending the JICM meeting and the 21st Century Panglong Conference.

“Two working teams have agreed to hold the JICM meeting and move the process forward but we can’t make the decision here. We have to first report it to the PPST,” Nai Aung Ma-Ngae, a spokesperson for the EAOs, told NMG.

There is a plan for a PPST meeting in early December.

The last JICM meeting was suspended after the Myanmar Army reportedly blocked Restoration Council of Shan State/Shan State Army (RCSS/SSA) Chairperson Gen Yawd Serk’s trip to the 4th anniversary of the NCA in Naypyitaw in late October.

“JICM and PPST meetings, which were going to be held after the fourth anniversary of the NCA, were canceled,” Yawd Serk told media outlets through a translator during a press conference on the Thai-Burma border.

The RCSS chairperson is also chairperson for the PPST.

The government wants the JICM meeting to happen from December 18 to 19.

PC representatives will meet leaders from the Karen National Union (KNU) on November 22.

The NCA signatories are the KNU, Chin National Front (CNF), All Burma Students’ Democratic Front (ABSDF), Karen National Liberation Army – Peace Council (KNLA-PC), Pa-O National Liberation Organization (PNLO), Arakan Liberation Party (ALP), RCSS, Democratic Karen Benevolent Army (DKBA), New Mon State Party (NMSP) and Lahu Democratic Union (LDU.)