Nai Hongsa Elected New NMSP Chairperson

Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Nai Hongsa has been elected the new chairperson of the New Mon State Party (NMSP) in the organization’s tenth conference after previously serving as the vice chair.

The conference began on December 25 at the NMSP headquarters in Ye Chaung Pyar and is ongoing.

According to the NMSP, two women and youth representatives have been also elected as central committee members.

“It’s not a dramatic change in leadership roles. But youth have been elected in this transition. I welcome this move,” Mon political analyst Min Min Nwe told NMG.

Nine central executive committee members, 33 central committee members, five reserve central committee members and seven military affairs committee representatives were elected, as well as district and township committee members.

The newly elected vice chairperson of the NMSP is Nai Aung Min. Nai Jor Yae will serve as general secretary and Nai Win Hla as joint secretary. The central committee members include Nai Layi Gakawng, Nai Banyar Lae, Nai Aung Ma Ngae Nai Banyar Mae San.

The NMSP holds its conference once every four years to select its leadership. This year, more than 100 people are in attendance, including party members, advisors, and observers. Participants have reportedly been discussing the party’s constitution, policies, implementation tasks, future plans, and the current political situation.

The NMSP signed its first ceasefire with Burma’s former military government in 1995. It broke down in 2010. The NSMP then signed a second ceasefire with the government in 2012.

The organization signed the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement with the government and military in February 2018.