Mon Unity Party to Compete Throughout Southeastern Burma in 2020 Election

Friday, January 17, 2020

The Mon Unity Party (MUP) has announced that it will run in Burma’s general elections this year in at least 12 townships in Mon and Karen states and Tanintharyi Region.

In Mon State, MUP officials will likely compete for seats in seven out of 10 townships in the state: Mawlamyine, Mudon, Thanbyuzayat, Ye, Chaungzon, Kyaikmayaw, and Paung.

“We are not sure whether we will run in Belin, Kyaikhto and Thaton townships. If we have candidates, we will run in these constituencies. We have yet to make a final decision about where we are going to run in coming election,” MUP’s joint secretary-2 Nai San Tin told NMG.

According to Nai San Tin, MUP will run in at least two townships in Tanintharyi and three townships in Karen State. They are currently negotiating and holding discussions with ethnic Karen political parties and the Dawei Nationalities Party to avoid overlap in the contested constituencies.

Many Mon political leaders and members of the Mon public have speculated that the MUP could win the majority of seats in the coming elections in constituencies with an ethnic Mon majority.

MUP’s strategy is to avoid vote splitting.

“It was difficult for Mon people to vote for a Mon party because there were two Mon political parties in the 2015 election. Now there is only one Mon political party,” political analyst Min Min told NMG. “If the 2020 general elections are held, the Mon party is likely to win many seats,” he added.

MUP was formed through the merger of the All Mon Regions Democracy Party, Mon National party, and Mon Forces Party. The Union Election Commission (UEC) allowed MUP to form on May 17 last year.

According to the political party registration law, the MUP registered as a political party with the Union Election Commission on July 11, 2019. The UEC has allowed the MUP to run in any constituency in country in the coming election.